Local Governing Body

What is it?

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school.

Byron Primary School converted to become an academy in January 2016 and is part of The Westbrook Trust.


Who are your governors?

 Our governing body consists of:

  • The head teacher
  • 2 parent governors
  • 4 co-opted governors
  • 1 elected staff governors


The governance structure of The Westbrook Trust can be viewed here.

The scheme of delegation can be viewed here.


The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually.


The chair of governors is Mr Graham Gorvett. Messages for him can be left at the school office or emailed via byronoffice@thewestbrooktrust.org


Details of the Byron Governing Board structure, meeting dates and Governor attendance can be found here.



The following documentation is available from the school office upon request:

  • the agenda for every meeting of the Local Governing Body and Committees
  • the approved minutes of each meeting
  • any report, document or other paper considered at each meeting